Print button

EANA21 Outstanding Paper Award

Selected paper
EANA would like to congratulate Alberto G. Fairén for being awarded the EANA21 Outstanding Paper Award. The award was presented during the closing ceremony of the 20th EANA Congress.

Please find the open-access paper here:
The Complex Molecules Detector (CMOLD): A Fluidic-Based Instrument Suite to Search for (Bio)chemical Complexity on Mars and Icy Moons
Alberto G. Fairén, Javier Gómez-Elvira, Carlos Briones, Olga Prieto-Ballesteros, José Antonio Rodríguez-Manfredi, Raquel López Heredero, Tomás Belenguer, Andoni G. Moral, Mercedes Moreno-Paz, and Víctor Parro
Award Information
EANA is celebrating its 20th anniversary this year. For that reason, EANA is organizing several special events and activities in 2021. One of these activities will be the EANA outstanding paper award contest. EANA is an organisation that lives through its members and therefore the EANA council board would like to highlight the excellent research performed by the EANA community by awarding the best paper publication in the anniversary year. The paper will be selected from all sent suggestions. Andrè Brack and Barbara Cavalazzi will be leading the jury. An appointed jury will screen the submitted nominations.
Papers eligible for the award:
Proposed articles can be sent in by both the (co-)authors themselves but also by people who were not involved in the study but would like to honour a publication. However, the requirements stated above have to be fulfilled.
Method of Selection
Papers will be judged on the following criteria: In addition, the jury may consider the extent to which the paper is useful in the support of astrobiology researchers, in line with EANA principles.
How to contribute
Send your paper (as PDF-file) to and include your full contact information. Include a short statement (max. 250 words), why that certain publication would earn the EANA outstanding paper award 2021.
The award is composed of a certificate and a prize money. The prize money will be handed out to the first author, whereby the certificate will contain the names of all authors and will be send to all of them.

For any question please contact: